Hallmark status

Hallmark Quality Standard

Have you heard about the Community Buildings Hallmark quality standard Scheme?

Developed by CCS and now a nationally recognised award, Hallmark level 1, 2 and 3 awards recognise good management and practice by the Community Building Management Committee.Community Buildings with the Hallmark award benefit recognition on funding applications both local and national grants as it evidences the high standard of the committee members and the merit of the hall and available to our Community Buildings members.

Hallmark definitions

This is how we define each Hallmark


Hallmark 1

Focuses on the management and administration of the charity


Hallmark 2

Focuses on health, safety, security, and licenses


Hallmark 3

Focuses on community, social awareness, communications, forward planning, and development

Assessment Process

Hallmark uses a system of trained peer visitors who use checklists to identify performance and provide external validation of achievement. These peer visitors are often active hall committee members who have been through the Hallmark Scheme themselves.

Apply for Hallmark 2022

With the easing of lockdown restrictions, we are now planning to reopen the Community Building member Hallmark accreditation scheme (COVID restrictions permitting).

To enter your community building, click here.  The deadline for applications is Thursday 31st March. 

Please be aware that this scheme relies on the hard work of our wonderful Hallmark Visitors, who are all volunteers. We will endeavour to visit as many halls as possible, but there may be a delay due to a backlog of applications and fewer Hallmark Visitors. If your hall has a Hallmark accreditation which is due for renewal in 2022, we have extended your certificate which will be valid for another 12 months.

If your Hallmark renewal has been extended from 2021. Please apply to renew your accreditation this year.

Obtaining Hallmark status highlighted the shortfall in the Trustees procedures and legal obligations they were not aware of. We now have a structured line of responsibilities to manage the Hall, which as a direct result we have secured grants of over £50,000 to refurbish our Hall as well as a discount on the Insurance premium and other benefits that Hallmark bring.

Isle Abbotts Village Hall

Success for 12 Village Halls across Somerset in 2021

CCS awarded 12 Village Halls certificates to celebrate their Village Halls achieving the Hallmark quality standards at the October annual Community Buildings Training event, at Holford and District Village Hall.

  • 11 Achieved Hallmark 1
  • 5 Achieved Hallmark 2
  • 2 Achieved Hallmark 3
Recent Winners


CCS annually holds the District Hallmark Awards. Congratulations to the below facilities:

  • Somerset West & Taunton District Winner – Milverton Victoria Rooms
  • Sedgemoor District Winner – Shipham Village Hall
  • South Somerset District Winner – The Charltons Community Centre
  • Mendip District Winner – Ashwick and Oakhill Village Hall

Our Hallmark presentations took place at our Annual Community Buildings Training held at Holford and District Village Hall in October. Here are some of our award winners presented by Jim Claydon Chair of CCS – who met and presented all the certificates and awards.